The Book Blag

Book reviews over anything and everything

Review: Perfect Weight by Deepak Chopra December 21, 2010

Filed under: Book Reviews — Carrie @ 12:01 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Are you unhappy with your weight, lacking energy, or experiencing digestive issues? How about sipping on some boiling water throughout your day or doing a liquid fast a couple times per week? These are just a couple of the suggestions made by Deepak Chopra in his book, Perfect Weight:The Complete Mind/Body Program for Achieving and Maintaining Your Ideal Weight, about the Ayurvedic approach to health, wellness, and weight loss.
 

Ayurveda is a traditional Indian approach to healing. In Ayurveda, a person belongs to one of (or a combination of) three doshas, or categories: vata, pitta, and kapha. Chopra takes you through the characteristics of each of these doshas and tells you what foods to eat and avoid, exercises to do or not do, and so forth, based on your personal body composition.
 

I really liked this book — and listened the audio version because I am an auditory learner and Chopra’s got a great voice. If you’re not familiar with Chopra, he is a big name in New Age medicine, healing, and spirituality and writes lots of self-help books. I like learning about healing traditions of other cultures (next on my list is a Traditional Chinese Medicine book), so I picked this one up.
 

Have I implemented some of the tips from Chopra? Actually, I have! Eating slowly and mindfully, drinking warm liquids and eating warm foods (good for my personal dosha), and practicing daily, low-impact exercise (rather than high-intensity exercise less frequently) are some of the beneficial lessons I took away from reading this book.
 

Is it woo-woo? Sure. Do I agree with everything Chopra says? No. But the overall message of listening to your body and treating it well is a good enough reason for me to have read this book. Four stars.
 

My rating: 4 stars

 

One Response to “Review: Perfect Weight by Deepak Chopra”

  1. Tara Says:

    Hooray! I can vouch for the fact that Chopra made an impact on the way Carrie thought about food. She was sharing tidbits of information from Chopra that even I, an eternal skeptic, found interesting and worth considering. 🙂 I would not be able to do the warm liquids thing, though. I like my drinks coooold.


Leave a Reply

